Lee Kernaghan announces new tour, new single and new album – Backroad Nation Tour kicking off May 2019

With special guests multi-Golden Guitar winners, The Wolfe Brothers & CMC Female Artist Of The Year Christie Lamb

1339

Lee Kernaghan is kicking off the year in a big way announcing his most extensive tour to date and an epic new album, Backroad Nation.

Lee says his Backroad Nation tour is set to cover a lot of country over the coming year with concert events planned Australia wide. The extensive run includes 45 shows that go on sale today and coincide with the release of the first radio single – Wheels. The new song from the forthcoming Backroad Nation album features the accompanying music video that was filmed on location in outback Northern Territory.

“It was absolutely spectacular out in that desert country and we were shooting in 46-degree heat – it was even too hot for the flies,” Lee recalls. Lee’s wife Robby also made a special appearance in the music video donning bikinis and Akubra hat. “When I first asked Robby if she’d be in the clip she said no,” he says. “So, I had to sweeten the deal and I bribed her with a couple of of cold beers at Lasseter’s Casino.”

Lee says the Backroad Nation album and tour is a celebration of ‘us, our way of life and the people who make our country great’. “Much of the inspiration for the songs has come from the people I’ve met and the places I’ve travelled to, from Alice Springs to the Deni Ute Muster, from the mighty Pilbara region in WA to the backroads of Queensland, and everywhere in between,” he says.

Kernaghan who has 38 number one songs to his credit says the new tour will feature all the hits and a whole lot more. “We’ve been working on creating a concert event that I hope people are going to really love being a part of,” he says. “A lot of new design elements have been added with the staging, lighting and screens plus the hottest band in the land, The Wolfe Brothers will be joining me and opening up the shows with a bunch of their own hits.”

The Wolfe Brothers made country music history in January becoming the first group to win four Golden Guitars in one night including the big one, Album Of The Year, for their outstanding release, Country Heart. One of Australia’s brightest new stars, Christie Lamb will also join Lee for his Backroad Nation Tour. Christie has notched up multiple number one hits on the charts; she was the Golden Guitar winner for New Talent Of The Year and in 2018 and was voted CMC Female Artist Of The Year.

Lee Kernaghan is considered a legend in the Australian music industry and for good reason. He has achieved a staggering 38 #1 chart hit songs including Boys From The Bush, Hat Town, Flying With The King, Australian Boy, Texas QLD 4385, Goondiwindi Moon, High Country and a veritable ute load of Golden Guitars – 37 in total. Lee has also won four ARIA Awards including The ARIA Special Achievement Award for the Spirit Of The Anzacs album – the Number One all genres album of 2015 and Highest Selling Australian Album Of The Year.

Tickets to the Backroad Nation Tour are on sale today. Lee Kernaghan’s new album Backroad Nation is set for release on May 10 through ABC Music. The first single from the album, Wheels, is at radio today. Check our the video clip for Wheels here https://youtu.be/TAkHv2Hr5bA

BACKROAD NATION TOUR DATES 2019

Saturday 11th May 2019
Berry Showgrounds, BERRY NSW
www.big-country.com.au

Thursday 30th May 2019
Saraton Theatre, GRAFTON NSW
www.saraton.com

Friday 31st May 2019
Cex Club, COFFS HARBOUR NSW
www.cex.com.au

Saturday 1st June 2019
Club Forster, FORSTER NSW
www.clubforster.com.au

Saturday 2nd June 2019
The Glasshouse, PORT MACQUARIE NSW
www.glasshouse.org.au

Thursday 13th June 2019
Horsham Town Hall, HORSHAM VIC
www.horshamtownhall.com.au

Friday 14th June 2019
Swan Hill Town Hall, SWAN HILL VIC
www.townhall.swanhill.vic.gov.au

Saturday 15th June 2019
Riverlinks Eastbank, SHEPPARTON VIC
www.riverlinksvenues.com.au

Thursday 20th June 2019
Yoogali Club, GRIFFITH NSW
www.oztix.com.au

Friday 21st June 2019
Wagga Wagga Civic Theatre, WAGGA WAGGA NSW
www.civictheatre.com.au

Saturday 22nd June 2019
Albury Entertainment Theatre, ALBURY NSW
www.alburyentertainmentcentre.com.au

Saturday 28th July 2019
Groundwater Country Music Festival, BROADBEACH QLD
www.groundwatercmf.com

Thursday 15th August 2019
Mandurah Performing Arts Centre, MANDURAH WA
www.manpac.com.au

Friday 16th August 2019
Crown Theatre, PERTH WA
www.crownperth.com.au

Saturday 17th August 2019
Bunbury Regional Entertainment Centre, BUNBURY WA
www.bunburyentertainment.com

Thursday 22nd August 2019
Brolga Theatre, MARYBOROUGH QLD
www.ourfrasercoast.com.au/brolga-theatre

Friday 23rd August 2019
Moncrieff Entertainment Centre, BUNDABERG QLD
www.moncrieff-bundaberg.com.au

Saturday 24th August 2019
Great Western Hotel, Rockhampton QLD
www.greatwesternhotel.com.au

Thursday 29th August 2019
Cairns Performing Arts Centre, CAIRNS QLD
www.cairns.qld.gov.au/cpac

Friday 30th August 2019
Townsville Entertainment Centre, TOWNSVILLE QLD
www.tecc.net.au

Saturday 31st August 2019
Mackay Entertainment Centre, MACKAY QLD
www.themecc.com.au

Thursday 5th September 2019
Kingaroy Town Hall, KINGAROY QLD
www.oztix.com.au

Friday 6th September 2019
Empire Theatre, TOOWOOMBA QLD
www.empiretheatre.com.au

Friday 13th September 2019
Evan Theatre, PENRITH NSW
www.penrith.panthers.com.au

Saturday 14th September 2019
Canberra Theatre, CANBERRA ACT
www.canberratheatrecentre.com.au

Thursday 19th September 2019
The Barn Palais, MT GAMBIER SA
www.oztix.com.au

Friday 20th September 2019
Thebarton Theatre, ADELAIDE SA
www.thebartontheatre.com.au

Saturday 21st September 2019
Barossa Arts Centre, TANUNDA SA
www.countryarts.org.au

Sunday 22nd September 2019
Broken Hill Civic Centre, BROKEN HILL NSW
www.brokenhill.nsw.gov.au/broken-hill-civic-centre

Friday 4th October 2019
Deni Ute Muster, DENILIQUIN VIC
www.deniutemuster.com.au

16th – 21st October 2019
Cruisin’ Country Cruise
www.cruisincountry.com.au

Thursday 7th November 2019
Burnie Town Hall, BURNIE TAS
www.burniearts.net

Friday 8th November 2019
Princess Theatre, LAUNCESTON TAS
www.theatrenorth.com.au

Saturday 9th November 2019
Wrest Point Entertainment Centre, HOBART TAS
www.wrestpoint.com.au

Friday 15th November 2019
Ullumburra Theatre, BENDIGO VIC
www.thecapital.com.au

Thursday 21st November 2019
Bunjil Place, NARRE WARREN VIC
www.bunjilplace.com.au

Friday 22nd November 2019
The Palms @ Crown, MELBOURNE VIC
www.crownmelbourne.com.au

Saturday 23rd November 2019
The Palms @ Crown, MELBOURNE VIC
www.crownmelbourne.com.au

Thursday 28th November 2019
The Events Centre, CALOUNDRA QLD
www.theeventscentre.com.au

Friday 29th November 2019
Twin Towns Services Club, TWEED HEADS NSW
www.twintowns.com.au

Saturday 30th November 2019
Twin Towns Services Club, TWEED HEADS NSW
www.twintowns.com.au

For more information, please visit www.leekernaghan.com